Law Enforcement Careers in Arkansas

The Arkansas State Police serves as an umbrella organization that oversees a number of state-wide divisions, including:

  • Administrative Services Division – ASP Personnel and State Trooper Recruiting
  • Highway Patrol Division – Highway Patrol Commanders
  • Criminal Investigation Division (CID) – CID Commanders
  • Crimes Against Children Division – Administrator and Area Offices
  • Highway Safety Office – Highway Safety Plans and Traffic Crash Statistics

Sponsored School

Capella University is proud to be partnered with the FBI National Academy Associates (FBINAA). Capella's 100% online criminal justice degree programs are led by professors with real-world experience and even allow you to earn credit for POST (Peace Officer Standards and Training). - Request Free Info

Regis University Online BS and MS in Criminology

Prepare for a career in law enforcement or advance your skills in criminal profiling with Regis University's online Criminology programs:


State Police Agencies in Arkansas

The Arkansas State Police Commission, which directs all activities and divisions of the Arkansas State Police, consists of a seven member State Police Commission who are appointed by the Governor of Arkansas for a term of seven years.

Highway Patrol -The Highway Patrol Division of the Arkansas State Police, which is divided into an Eastern Region and a Western Region, includes more than 900 State Police employees, two-thirds of which are Arkansas State Police Troopers.

Criminal Investigation Division – The Special Agents of the Criminal Investigation Division are tasked with investigating criminal cases initiated by the Arkansas State Police and local law enforcement agencies.

Crimes against Children Division – The Crimes against Children Division of the Arkansas State Police includes a central administrative office, as well as eight area investigative offices.

Arkansas Highway Patrol

All candidates for State Trooper jobs in Arkansas must meet a specific set of requirements, which include: must be at least 21 years old; must be a citizen of the United States; must hold a current and valid driver’s license; must have a high school diploma or a GED; must have no felony convictions; must have no misdemeanor domestic violence convictions. Before candidates can begin State Trooper training in Arkansas, they must pass a department physical, a psychological examination, and a polygraph examination.

Municipal Police Departments in Arkansas

Little Rock

The Little Rock Police Department is divided into an Executive Bureau, Field Services Bureau, and Investigative and Support Bureau. There are also three police stations strategically located throughout the city. The Bureaus are further divided into Divisions/Units, which include:

  • Accreditation and Staff Inspections Unit
  • Detective Division
  • Internal Affairs Division
  • Office of Emergency Services/Communications Center
  • Patrol Divisions
  • Records Division
  • Special Investigations Division
  • Special Operations Division
  • Training Division

The Executive Bureau oversees the Support Services Division and the Internal Affairs Division. The Field Services Bureau oversees the Downtown Patrol Division, the Southwest Patrol Division, the Northwest Patrol Division, and the Communications Division. The Investigative and Support Bureau oversees the Major Crimes Division, Special Investigations Division, Training Division and Headquarters.

All candidates for Police Officer jobs in Little Rock must be at least 20 ½ years old, but less than 46 years old; candidates must have a high school diploma or GED; candidates must have no felony convictions; candidates must be a citizen of the United States; and candidates must have acceptable vision and hearing.


The Fayetteville Police Department consists of about 170 sworn Police Officers and civilian members. The Patrol Division within the Police Department is the largest unit, consisting of 71 officers, one captain, two lieutenants, and eight sergeants. The Patrol Unit of the Fayetteville Police Department is divided into the following units:

  • Bicycle Unit
  • Crisis Negotiation Team
  • Emergency Response Team
  • Honor Guard
  • K-9 Unit
  • Motorcycle Unit
  • Uniform Patrol

Minimum qualifications for Police Officer jobs in Fayetteville include:

  • U.S. citizens
  • At least 21 years of age
  • High school diploma or GED
  • Valid driver’s license
  • No felony convictions

Further, Police Officer training in Fayetteville includes a physical fitness test and the completion of a field training program.


The Jonesboro Police Department, which includes 150 sworn Police Officers and 33 full- and part-time civilian employees, serves nearly 60,000 residents, as well as many more school-year temporary residents of Arkansas State University. The Jonesboro Police Department includes the following Divisions: Administrative Services Division, Uniform Patrol Division, Criminal Investigation Division, and a Special Services Division, which includes the following units:

  • DARE Program
  • Honor Guard Unit
  • Motorcycle Unit
  • Reserve Officer Program
  • School Resource Officer Program
  • Tactical Unit
  • Traffic Unit
  • Warrant Unit

Candidates for Police Officer jobs in Jonesboro must meet minimum employment requirements before they can begin Police Officer training in Jonesboro. In particular, all candidates must be at least 21 years old; they must possess a high school diploma or GED; they must have no felony convictions; and they must be able to pass agility tests, a written test, a drug screen, a psychological examination, and an extensive background investigation.

County Sheriff’s Departments in Arkansas

The largest counties in Arkansas include:

Pulaski County

The Pulaski County Sheriff’s Department has five substations (three north of the river and two south of the river), a Patrol Division, and an Investigations Division, which consists of three squads and a Narcotics Unit. Special Units of the Pulaski County Sheriff’s Department include:

  • Accident Reconstruction Team
  • Honor Guard
  • Reserve Deputy Program
  • SWAT Team
  • Water Patrol

Benton County

The Sheriff’s Office of Benton County serves more than 200,000 residents and patrols an area of about 880 square miles. The Units of the Benton County Sheriff’s Office include:

  • Civil/Warrants
  • Courthouse Security
  • Crime Prevention
  • Criminal Investigation
  • Detention
  • DWI/DUI Task Force
  • Patrol
  • SWAT Team

Washington County

The Washington County Sheriff’s Office includes a Detention Division and an Enforcement Division.

Back to Top